Ortlieb Frontroller bicycle panniers review

Standard

This is the first bicycle pannier review, there will be many more pannier review posts to come.

Why REI ads? Great customer service and great prices, really, I shop there!
REI.com

I apologize for the recent lack of updates, I’ve been busy preparing my new website, www.theultimatetrek.com, to go live.  It finally has, so now I’m back to the blog.  Have a look at the new website if you’ve got the time.

So let’s get started with out look at Ortlieb panniers.

Durability:

Price:

Weather:

Organization:

Compatibility:

Total:

.8

First up are the front panniers.  These panniers are typically smaller than rear panniers and are very important in effecting your bike’s handling.  You’re going to want to keep these panniers evenly loaded and low to the ground.  The lower the bag, the more stable the bike.  Don’t overload the front panniers or you might go head-over-bars on downhills.

Ortlieb Front Roller Panniers Ortlieb Front Roller Panniers


Let’s look at some specifics on the frontrollers from Ortlieb.  Obviously they are waterproof, and they are also well-made.  They measure 11.8 x 9.8 x 5.8 and can carry 1525.6 c inches combined.  That is about as much as a medium-sized backpacking pack.  The thing I like the most about the Ortlieb frontrollers, and the Ortliebs in general, is the mounting system.  It’s great.  Super easy to use, adjust, and replace if necessary.  I freaked out when I first went to install the panniers because the clips didn’t even come close to lining up with my Surly Nice Racks.  Upon further inspection I learned all about the great clip system. It’s very simple.

*  Clips are fully-adjustable left to right.  So this means you can make them wider or narrower depending on your rack.

*  Clips are quick-release.  Simply lift the cord and they come open, let it go and it closes.

*  Bottom clips move around to tightly secure the pannier to the rack and stop it from jiggling.

*  There are no ventilation options on these panniers, so do not keep wet things in here long.

2 responses »

  1. I ride with ortlieb backrollers on my surly bike and have had no problems with them. they are very similar to the frontrollers. I usually do 5 day tours and have never filled them to capacity, even when I camp.

  2. I also have used the frontrollers, like you. I like them but have found them to be a bit small personally. I usually do week-long tours and camp, carrying a stove and stuff, and run out of space. Does anyone have any suggestions for some bigger front panniers that also mount low like the Ortliebs?

Leave a Reply

